Maharashtra Assembly Elections Live Updates

Maharashtra's Assembly Elections are scheduled on 21st October 2019 with the counting to take place on 24th October. The BJP led state has 288 seats of which 145 are required to gain a majority. Led by Devendra Fadnavis, BJP bears 122 seats currently, Aditya Thackeray led Shiv Sena holds 63, Prithvi Raj Chouhan led Indian National Congress holds 42 seats and Jayant Patil led Nationalist Congress Party holds 41 seats. All India Majlis-e-ittehad-ul-Muslimeen abbreviated as AIMIM is a party based out of Telangana state had won two seats in the previous election.

All the State's opinion polls illustrated a clear victory for the NDA with 46 percent vote share to NDA, 30% to Congress and 24 percent to others. The seat projections by different media organizations also showed a clear lead for the NDA. As voting happened on 21st October, it was reported that Voting took place peacefully all through the state. The counting is scheduled to happen on 24th October.

Stay updated with all the latest news from Maharashtra Elections and Counting on all the major Hindi News Channels. You can watch all the Maharashtra Election related news live on YuppTV from all over the world.

Maharashtra Lok Sabha Election Updates

Maharashtra's General Elections are scheduled to happen in four phases from April 11th to April 29th. The state has a total of 48 seats of which NDA (National Democratic Alliance) possess 42 and UPA (United Progressive Alliance) possesses 6. The NDA coalition has has BJP with 23 seats, Shiv Sena with 18, and Swabhimani Paksha with 1 while the UPA coalition has Indian National Congress with 2 seats and Nationalist Congress Party with 4.

INC and Congress party are still in alliance and had recently announced their seat sharing pact. The parties will contest in 26 and 22 seats respectively. Ashok Chavan is the Congress Chief in Maharashtra and Ajit Pawar is the senior leader of NCP. The duo in a press meet said that a total of 56 parties have come together to form an alliance to defeat BJP in the Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

On the other hand, BJP will contest in 25 seats out of 48 and Shiv Sena will contest in 23. The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) party led by Asaduddin Owaisi which is one of the major parties in Telangana, is contesting in Aurangabad with Imtiaz Ali as its candidate. Maharashtra has the second highest number of Lok Sabha seats after Uttar Pradesh.

The first phase elections in Maharashtra will take place on April 11th in Wadhra, Ramtek, Nagpur, Bhandara-Gondiya, Gadchiroli- Chimur, Chandrapur and Yavatmal Washim. The second phase is scheduled on April 18th in districts of Akola, Amravat, Hingoli, Buldhana, Nanded, Parbhani, Beed, Osmanabad, Latur, and Solapur. The third and fourth phase are organized on 23rd and 29th of April in districts of Jalgaon, Raver, Jalna, Aurangabad, Raigad, Pune, Baramat, Ahmednagar, Madha, Sangli, Satara, Ratnagiri, Sindhudurg, Kolhapur, and Hatkanangle, and Nandurbar, Dhule, Dindori, Nashik, Palghar, Bhiwandi, Kalyan, Thane, and all of Mumbai respectively.