Odisha Assembly Elections Live Updates

Due to be held in early 2019, Odisha State Assembly Elections are coming closer. The state has 147 Assembly constituencies of which 117 are currently under the leadership of the largest party BJD. The rest are divided between INC and BJP. Of the 147 seats in Odisha, 74 seats are required to gain a majority and establish a government.

Odisha is currently under the leadership of Naveen Patnaik of Biju Janata Dal. Of the three major parties existent in Odisha, BJD holds the largest number of seats. INC and BJP are the principal opposition parties and are being headed by Niranjan Patnaik and Dharmendra Pradhan respectively.

Recent opinion polls have put BJD ahead of all the three parties while Congress and BJP shared a relatively higher number of seats than before. While the opinion polls may or may not provide an accurate prediction of the 2019 elections, they may give us a glimpse of decline or rise in the parties' popularity among the public. The opinion polls while showed us that the people are satisfied with the BJD's governing, it also gave us the information that many people are unsatisfied with it. This can make the results of upcoming Odisha Elections 2019 highly unpredictable.

Odisha's General Elections are scheduled to happen from April 11th to April 29th in four phases. The state bears 21 Lok Sabha seats of which Biju Janata Dal (BJD) won 20 and BJP won 1 in 2014. The major parties in the state are BJD, BJP, and INC. The Odisha General Election polling will take place simultaneously with the Legislative Assembly Elections.

Polling will take place in four phases of which the first phase will be on 11th April 2019 in Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur, and Koraput. The second phase will be on 18th April in Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal, and Aska. The third phase will take place on April 23rd in Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Cuttack, Puri, and Bhubaneshwar. The fourth and final phase of Odisha General elections will happen on April 29th in Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jaipur, Kendrapara, and Jagatsinghpur.

Watch all the of Odisha Elections 2019 live updates on YuppTV. Access all the Hindi News Channels live from anywhere in the world on your Smartphones, Smart Televisions, and other internet-enabled devices using YuppTV App or Website.

Trending Live