Sikkim Assembly Elections Live Updates

Scheduled to happen concurrently with the Lok Sabha Elections, Sikkim's Assembly ends in May 2019. Sikkim has a total of 32 constituencies of which 17 are essential to form a government. The state is currently being led by Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) and Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) is the principal opposition party.

Sikkim has two major political parties SDF and SKM. Pawan Kumar Chamling, the head of SDF is the current chief minister of Sikkim and Prem Singh Tamang is the leader of opposition party SKM. Very recently the former football star of India Bhaichung Bhutia launched his own party Hamro Sikkim Party and informed the media that his party candidates will most likely contest in 18-20 seats in the next assembly polls. As revealed by the sports star, HSP's main agenda will be to improve the education and sports infrastructure.

As it may seem that the longest-serving leader of Sikkim Chamling might win in the next elections too, the entry of the Football star might alter the distribution of power in the Sikkim political ground.

Sikkim General Elections 2019 are scheduled to take place in single phase on April 11th. The state holds only one Lok Sabha seat which is currently held by Prem Das Rai of Sikkim Democratic Front. Pawan Kumar Chamling of Sikkim Democratic Front is contending along with PS Golay of Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM), Laten Tshering Sherpa of BJP, and Bharat Basnett of INC. The counting is organized on 23rd of May 2019.

Stay updated with all the Sikkim Assembly Election Updates 2019 on your Smartphones or Smart Televisions through YuppTV. Watch all the Indian TV Channels using YuppTV App from anywhere in the world.

Trending Live