Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections Live Updates

Chhattisgarh elections are scheduled to held in two phases- 12th and 20th November 2018. The state comprises a total of 90 seats, out of which elections for 18 seats will be held in the first phase and 72 seats will be held in the second. Of the 90 existing seats, 46 are necessary for any party to win a majority.

The date for nominations in Chhattisgarh had been announced to be 16th October 2018 to 23rd October 2018. The date of polls was confirmed to be 12th and 20th November and 11th December will be the date of counting.

Chhattisgarh is currently being serviced by BJP party who had won the majority number of seats in 2013 elections. The state has four major parties namely BJP, Congress, CPI, and BSP and in this term elections. Congress and BSP are hoped to form an alliance but it has been announced recently that BSP and CPI are forming an alliance. After this announcement, Congress is said to be in seat-sharing talks with CPI, CPM, NCP, and Gondwana parties for upcoming Chhattisgarh elections 2018.

The recent opinion polls conducted by various news and media agencies showed a mixed response from the voters. Some polls put BJP ahead in the upcoming elections and some put Congress. Given the vote share received by the two parties in the previous elections, the elections will be highly unpredictable. While the formation of an alliance between Congress, BSP and left parties might affect the result of the elections, BJP stands just as strong in the state.

Chhattisgarh General Elections are scheduled in three phases from 11th April to 23rd April. The state has 11 Lok Sabha seats out of which BJP holds 10 and Congress holds 1 seat currently. BJP dropped all the sitting MPs and is planning to contend with all new members. Most veteran leaders like Ramesh Bais has also been denied ticket for the upcoming elections. BSP also announced 6 candidates to participate in the General Elections.

The first phase elections will take place in Bastar on April 11th. The second phase elections will take place in Rajnandgaon, Mahasamund, and Kanker on April 18th. Surguja, Raigarh, Janjgir-Champa, Korba, Bilaspur, Durg, and Raipur will have their elections in third phase scheduled to happen on April 23rd.

Watch all the Chhattisgarh elections 2018 live updates on YuppTV. You can watch all the Indian news channels on YuppTV for free on Smartphones, Smart Televisions, and other internet-enabled devices.