Jammu and Kashmir Assembly Elections Live Updates

Consisting of 87 seats, Jammu and Kashmir, is scheduled to have Assembly elections concurrently with Indian General Election 2019. Currently Jammu and Kashmir People's Democratic party (JKPDP) holds 28 seats, BJP holds 25, Jammu and Kashmir National Conference (JKN) holds 15, INC holds 12, and the rest of the seats are won by Jammu and Kashmir People's Conference (JKPC), Jammu and Kashmir People's Democratic Front (JKPDF) and CPI. Of the existing 87 constituencies, any party would require 44 seats to form a government. The major party in the state PDP is being led by Mehbooba Mufti, BJP by Kavinder Gupta, JKN by Omar Abdullah, and INC by Ghulam Ahmad Mir.

Satya Pal Malik, the governor of Jammu and Kashmir, dissolved the Assembly in December 2018. According to the Election Commission, the state's legislative elections will be held before May. J & K is currently under Presidential rule and every major political party in the state is confident over its victory in the upcoming elections 2019.

Given the seat share in the last elections, it is highly possible that the same situation would repeat itself in J & K, but it might be too early to predict. The opinion polls conducted by various news and media websites are in support of these predictions, but that situation is prone to change with the state and national level political developments. Revisit this page to get all the latest Jammu and Kashmir 2019 Elections updates.

Jammu and Kashmir General Elections are scheduled to be held in five phases. Even though the state has only six Lok Sabha seats being a troubled state the elections have been scheduled in five phases. Out of the six seats, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) holds 3 seats and Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party (JKPDP) holds 3.

The first phase of election is scheduled on 11th of April in Baramulla and Jammu. The second phase will be in Srinagar and Udampur on April 18th. Anantnag will have its elections in the third phase on April 23rd. Anantnag (Kulgam District) will have elections in the fourth phase on April 29th. Anantnag (Shopian and Pulwama District) and Ladakh Elections are scheduled on 6th of May in the final phase.

Register on YuppTV to gain access to all the Indian News channels from Smartphones, Smart Televisions and other internet-enabled devices anywhere in the world.

Trending Live