Assam Lok Sabha Elections Live Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 in Assam are scheduled to take place in three phases between April and May. Dated 11th, 18th and 23rd of April, the phase 1, elections will happen in Tezpur, Kalibor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh, Lakhimpur districts, phase 2 elections will include Karimganj, Silchar, Mangaldoi, Nawgong, and Autonomous district, and phase 3 includes Dhubri, Kokrajhar, Barpeta, Gauhati districts. The final counting will take place on the 23rd of May 2019.

Three major political parties exist in Assam- namely Bharatiya Janatha Party (BJP), Indian National Congress (INC), Assam India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), and Asom Gana Parishad (AGP). AGP and BJP were allies but ended their alliance a few months ago due to differences over Citizenship Amendment Bill. The two parties recently returned to form an alliance to contend in the Lok Sabha Elections against Congress.

BJP currently holds 7 Lok Sabha seats out of 14 whereas Congress and AIUDF each hold 3. The Citizenship Amendment Bill is going to play a key role in the Assam General Elections. The opinion polls that have been carried out by various media organizations have put UPA ahead of NDA in the upcoming elections.

The BJP list of candidates that are going to contend in the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections of Assam involves Shri Kripanath Malla, Dr. Rajdeep Roy Bengali, Shri Harensingh Bey, Smt. Queen Ojha, Shri Dilip Saika, Shri Tapan Gogai, Shri Rameshwar Teli, Shri Pradan Baruah. From Congress, the list involves Swarup Das, Sushmita Dev, Gaurav Gogoi, Sushanta Borgohain, and Paban Singh Ghatowar.

Assam is going to play a key role in the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections and the burning issue of Citizenship Amendment Bill is one of the key issues that is going to affect this result. Watch all the Assam Lok Sabha Election Updates Live on YuppTV from all around the world.